Belt Grades

ITF and other General Choi Hong Hi’s style- Taekwon-Do organizations:
Note: ‘Gup‘ is sometimes spelled ‘Kup’ or ‘Geup’ and ‘Stripe‘ is also called ‘Tag’ and ‘Tip.’
ITF and similar practitioners averagely take 3-4 years to get their 1st dan, if practicing 1-3 classes per week for an hour or more.

  • White Belt (10th Gup)
  • Gold/Yellow Stripe (9th Gup)
  • Gold/Yellow Belt (8th Gup)
  • Green Stripe (7th Gup)
  • Green Belt (6th Gup)
  • Blue Stripe (5th Gup)
  • Blue Belt (4th Gup)
  • Red Stripe (3rd Gup)
  • Red Belt (2nd Gup)
  • Black Stripe (1st Gup)
  • 1st Dan Black Belt (becomes Novice Black Belt)
  • 2nd Dan Black Belt
  • 3rd Dan Black Belt
  • 4th Dan Black Belt (becomes Expert Black Belt)
  • 5th Dan Black Belt
  • 6th Dan Black Belt
  • 7th Dan Black Belt (becomes Master)
  • 8th Dan Black Belt
  • 9th Dan Black Belt (becomes Grandmaster)
  • ITF Belt Colors



    ITF belt colors include stripes

    between the full color belts.

    Stripes are just as important as the

    big color belts.






    WTF Belt Grades:
    Note: WTF color belts vary highly depending on the school, therefore a world-wide belt establishment is not avaliable to add here. It is usually simmilar to the ITF belts, sometimes with additional colors such as orange or purple or brown. Below, however, are the WTF black belt grades.
    WTF practitioners averagely take 2 years to get their 1st dan when practicing 1-3 45 minute classes per week.

  • Poom (a black belt for children 15 or 16 or under. Exactly like a black belt, but held only until an official black belt is awarded once the child is old enough.)
  • 1st Dan Black Belt
  • 2nd Dan Black Belt
  • 3rd Dan Black Belt
  • 4th Dan Black Belt
  • 5th Dan Black Belt (becomes a Master)
  • 6th Dan Black Belt
  • 7th Dan Black Belt
  • 8th Dan Black Belt (becomes a Grandmaster)
  • 9th Dan Black Belt
  • 10th Dan Black Belt
  • WTF Belt Colors


     General WTF Belt colors

    are simmilar to the ITF colors.







    ATA (Songham) Belt Grades:
    Note: ATA practitioners averagely take 1 year to get their 1st degree.

  • White Belt (9th Grade)
  • Orange Belt (8th Grade)
  • Yellow Belt (7th Grade)
  • Camo Belt (6th Grade)
  • Green Belt (5th Grade)
  • Purple Belt (4th Grade)
  • Blue Belt (3rd Grade)
  • Brown Belt (2nd Grade)
  • Red Belt (1st Grade)
  • 1st Degree Black Belt
  • 2nd Degree Black Belt
  • 3rd Degree Black Belt
  • 4th Degree Black Belt
  • 5th Degree Black Belt
  • 6th Degree Black Belt
  • 7th Degree Black Belt (becomes a Master)
  • 8th Degree Black Belt
  • 9th Degree Black Belt (becomes a Grandmaster)
  • ATA Belt Colors


     ATA belt colors

    include purple, orange, and camo

    which ITF and WTF do not have.







    Please Comment If You Have More Belt Information!


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: