Belt Meanings

The belt meanings may vary slightly between styles or do-jangs.

ITF and WTF Belt Meanings:

White : Signifies innocence. No previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do, a beginner student that is innocent like a newborn baby when it comes to Taekwon-Do or a blank page yet to be filled.

Yellow : Represents the earth where the seed of Taekwon-Do is planted as the foundation of Taekwon-Do is beginning.

Green : Represents the green plants that grow from the earth, just as the practioners grows in his or her knowledge and skill in Taekwon-Do.

Blue : Signifies the sky and the heavens, towards which the tree grows as Taekwon-Do training progresses.

Red : Signifies danger, because most red belts have good technique and no control, and therefore are dangerous to others and sometimes to themselves. The red belt should be cautious and try to have self-control.

Black : The opposite of white, therefore signifying a maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.

ATA/Songham Belt Meanings:

White: Pure and without knowledge of Songahm Taekwondo. As with the Pine Tree, the seed must now be planted and nourished to develop strong roots.

Orange: The sun is beginning to rise. As with the morning’s dawn, only the beauty of the sunrise is seen rather than the immense power.

Yellow: The seed is beginning to see the sunlight.

Camo: The sapling is hidden amongst the taller pines and must now fight its way upwards.

Green: The pine tree is beginning to develop and grow in strength.

Purple: Coming to the mountain. The tree is mid-growth and now the path becomes steep.

Blue: The tree reaches for the sky towards new heights.

Brown: The tree is firmly rooted in the earth.

Red: The sun is setting. The first phase of growth has been accomplished.

Red-Black: The dawn of a new day. The sun breaks through the darkness.

1st Degree: The tree reached maturity and has overcome the darkness. It must now begin to ‘plant seeds for the future.’

2nd Degree: With your noble character, you will develop a new permanence in your life.

3rd Degree: Peace of mind & tranquility.


Belt Grades

ITF and other General Choi Hong Hi’s style- Taekwon-Do organizations:
Note: ‘Gup‘ is sometimes spelled ‘Kup’ or ‘Geup’ and ‘Stripe‘ is also called ‘Tag’ and ‘Tip.’
ITF and similar practitioners averagely take 3-4 years to get their 1st dan, if practicing 1-3 classes per week for an hour or more.

  • White Belt (10th Gup)
  • Gold/Yellow Stripe (9th Gup)
  • Gold/Yellow Belt (8th Gup)
  • Green Stripe (7th Gup)
  • Green Belt (6th Gup)
  • Blue Stripe (5th Gup)
  • Blue Belt (4th Gup)
  • Red Stripe (3rd Gup)
  • Red Belt (2nd Gup)
  • Black Stripe (1st Gup)
  • 1st Dan Black Belt (becomes Novice Black Belt)
  • 2nd Dan Black Belt
  • 3rd Dan Black Belt
  • 4th Dan Black Belt (becomes Expert Black Belt)
  • 5th Dan Black Belt
  • 6th Dan Black Belt
  • 7th Dan Black Belt (becomes Master)
  • 8th Dan Black Belt
  • 9th Dan Black Belt (becomes Grandmaster)
  • ITF Belt Colors



    ITF belt colors include stripes

    between the full color belts.

    Stripes are just as important as the

    big color belts.






    WTF Belt Grades:
    Note: WTF color belts vary highly depending on the school, therefore a world-wide belt establishment is not avaliable to add here. It is usually simmilar to the ITF belts, sometimes with additional colors such as orange or purple or brown. Below, however, are the WTF black belt grades.
    WTF practitioners averagely take 2 years to get their 1st dan when practicing 1-3 45 minute classes per week.

  • Poom (a black belt for children 15 or 16 or under. Exactly like a black belt, but held only until an official black belt is awarded once the child is old enough.)
  • 1st Dan Black Belt
  • 2nd Dan Black Belt
  • 3rd Dan Black Belt
  • 4th Dan Black Belt
  • 5th Dan Black Belt (becomes a Master)
  • 6th Dan Black Belt
  • 7th Dan Black Belt
  • 8th Dan Black Belt (becomes a Grandmaster)
  • 9th Dan Black Belt
  • 10th Dan Black Belt
  • WTF Belt Colors


     General WTF Belt colors

    are simmilar to the ITF colors.







    ATA (Songham) Belt Grades:
    Note: ATA practitioners averagely take 1 year to get their 1st degree.

  • White Belt (9th Grade)
  • Orange Belt (8th Grade)
  • Yellow Belt (7th Grade)
  • Camo Belt (6th Grade)
  • Green Belt (5th Grade)
  • Purple Belt (4th Grade)
  • Blue Belt (3rd Grade)
  • Brown Belt (2nd Grade)
  • Red Belt (1st Grade)
  • 1st Degree Black Belt
  • 2nd Degree Black Belt
  • 3rd Degree Black Belt
  • 4th Degree Black Belt
  • 5th Degree Black Belt
  • 6th Degree Black Belt
  • 7th Degree Black Belt (becomes a Master)
  • 8th Degree Black Belt
  • 9th Degree Black Belt (becomes a Grandmaster)
  • ATA Belt Colors


     ATA belt colors

    include purple, orange, and camo

    which ITF and WTF do not have.







    Please Comment If You Have More Belt Information!

    %d bloggers like this: